Final placings Compose Aotearoa! NZ 2022

 A big THANK YOU to all composers entering their wonderful new works for this year’s competition. Adjudicators were CANZ Artistic Director Dr Karen Grylls, NZ Secondary Student’s Choir Associate Music Director Brent Stewart, and renowned New Zealand composer David Hamilton.

Open Category

Winner: Lady of the River  by Jessie Leov

Highly Commended
The Bells by Chris Artley
Jubiáte Déo Ómnis Térra  by James Cullen
The Sea Child  by John Elmsly

25 and Under Category

Winner: Flames by William Squire

Highly Commended
Gloria by Fergus Byett
Moon and Stars by Katherine Lopez

Waiata Tira Category

Winner: not awarded this year

Highly Commended
He Roimata by Morgan King