Final placings Compose Aotearoa! NZ 2021

 A big THANK YOU to all composers entering their wonderful new works for this year’s competition. Adjudicators were CANZ Artistic Director Dr Karen Grylls, NZ Youth Choir Music Director David Squire, and renowned New Zealand composer David Hamilton.

Open Category

Winner: Confiteor tibi  by Simon Eastwood.

Highly Commended
Nunc dimittis by Jesse Leov
Wynken, Blynken and Nod  by Keith Moss


John Elmsly with Sorrowing Love
Stephen Lange with Do not stand at my grave and weep
Chris Adams with Four Vignettes mourning the loss of a river
William Green with Where Music Begins

25 and Under Category

Winner: AVE MARIA by Denzel Panama

Highly Commended
I’ll be here by Katherine Lopez


Jaimee Thomas with Kyrie
Rocielli Fernando with Less than the Cloud to the Wind
Jordan Gunn with The Sentry

Waiata Tira Category

Winner: Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis by Fergus Byett

Highly Commended
Te papa a Hine-Rēhia by Chris Artley